Welcome to AWEST2015

 You are cordially invited to the 3rd Awaji International Workshop on “Electron Spin Science & Technology: Biological and Materials Science Oriented Applications” (3rd AWEST 2015), June 14 – 17, 2015, Awaji Yumebutai International Conference Center, the Awaji Island, Hyogo, Japan.

AWEST, Awaji Island Cinference will be held early in June or in mid-June every year at the same venue in Awaji Island. The topics of each workshop will reflect trends in electron spin science & technology or emerging subjects in the related fields from both the experimental and theoretical sides.

Aims and scope of the workshop

The aim of the workshop is to provide an international/global forum for discussions of interdisciplinary issues on electron spin science/technology relevant to open shell systems/compounds and electron-mediated phenomena in the ground or excited state, to biologists, chemists, materials scientists, physicists and other scientists with both academic and industrial backgrounds. Particularly, the workshop will focus on methodological developments of molecular electron spin science as well as biological/materials science oriented applications of electron spin science/technology, including syntheses of novel open shell compounds with exotic applications and quests for novel functionalities of open shell systems as diverse as possible; structural biology/biological science, materials and polymer science/engineering, organic/inorganic chemistry and physics. Theoretical approaches are also encouraged. Young scientists and graduate students are particularly encouraged to participate in the workshop and mingle with all leading scientists in the fields.

Invited Speakers from Overseas

  • Dinar Abdullin (University of Bonn, Germany)
  • Samita Basu (SAHA Institute of Nuclear Physics, India)
  • Lawrence Berliner (University of Denver, USA) Canceled
  • Alice M. Bowen (Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany)
  • Silvia Cavagnero (University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA)
  • Yun-Wei Chiang (National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan)
  • Emrys Evans (University of Oxford, UK)
  • Danna Freedman (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Elka R. Georgieva (Cornell University, USA)
  • Zhefeng Guo (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Masaki Horitani (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Konstantin L. Ivanov (ITC and Novosibirsk State University, Russia)
  • Johann Klare (University of Osnabrueck, Germany)
  • Gerd Kothe (Freiburg University, Germany)
  • Joulia Larionova (University of Montpellier, France)
  • Swadhin Mandal (Indian Institute of Science Education and Research-Kolkata, India)
  • Hideto Matsuoka (University of Bonn, Germany)
  • Pritam Mukhopadhyay (Jawaharlal Nehru University, India)
  • Peter Z. Qin (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Maxie Roessler (Queen Mary University of London, UK)
  • Mario Ruben (Institute of Nanotechnology, KIT, Germany)
  • Enrico Salvadori (University College London and Queen Mary University London, UK)
  • Juergen Schnack (Universitaet at Bielefeld, Germany)
  • Takuya Segawa (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Likai Song (NHMFL/FSU, USA)
  • Dimitri Svistunenko (University of Essex,UK)
  • Stefan Weber (Freiburg University, Germany) Canceled

Domestic Speakers Invited

  • Yutaka Amao (Osaka City University, Japan)
  • Toshiaki Arata (Osaka University, Japan)
  • Yutaka Fujii (University of Fukui, Japan)
  • Satoru Fujiwara (Japan Atomic Energy Agency, Japan)
  • Osamu Hisatomi (Osaka University, Japan)
  • Tatsuya Iwata (Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Katsuichi Kanemoto (Osaka City University, Japan)
  • Akio Kawai (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Takashi Kawakami (Osaka University, Japan)
  • Yasuhiro Kobori (Kobe University, Japan)
  • Chojiro Kojima (Osaka University, Japan)
  • Kiminori Maeda (Saitama University, Japan)
  • Yuichiro Maeda (Nagoya University, Japan) Canceled
  • Hiroyuki Mino (Nagoya University, Japan)
  • Yasuhisa Mizutani (Osaka University, Japan)
  • Shushi Nagamori (Osaka University, Japan)
  • Hitoshi Ohta (Kobe University, Japan)
  • Keiji Okada (Osaka City University, Japan)
  • Yutaka Shikano (Institute for Molecular Science, Japan)
  • Mitsuo Shoji (University of Tsukuba, Japan)
  • Isao Suetake (Osaka University, Japan)
  • Shuichi Suzuki (Osaka City University, Japan)
  • Keisuke Ueda (RIKEN Center for Life Science Technologies, Japan)
  • Tomoaki Yago (Saitama University, Japan)
  • Naoki Yamamoto (Kobe University, Japan)

Overseas Invited Researchers/Students

  • Abhishek Sau (SAHA Institute of Nuclear Physics, India)
  • Chaitrali Sengupta (SAHA Institute of Nuclear Physics, India)
  • Sharavan Kumar (Jawaharlal Nehru University, India)
  • Sudhir K. Keshri (Jawaharlal Nehru University, India)
  • Yun-Hsuan Kuo (National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan)
  • Chia-Jung Tsai (National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan)
  • Tai-Ching Sung (National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan)

Leave a Comment